Oct 23 2010
Artisanal LA Starts Today and Sunday Details @artisanalla
 

Full Event Breakdown
Artisanal LA is a weekend long community shopping, tasting, and learning experience showcasing the city’s finest local, sustainable and handmade edibles Saturday and Sunday, October 23-24 in the penthouse of downtown’s historic Cooper Building. Admission to the event ($10 pre-sale, $15 cash at the door) includes:

• Hosted beverages like Honest Tea, Dry Soda, Function and Bonadea
• Local craft beer and spirits tasting (21+)
• A one-of-a-kind tote bag for the first 1000 attendees
• Workshops and cool handmade activities
• Family friendly arts & crafts
• Great speakers and chef demos
• Giveaways and door prizes all weekend long
• Unlimited re-entry all weekend long
• DJ Bryan Davidson setting the mood
• Pitchfork’s Mud Baron giving out seedlings to inspire everyone’s inner urban farmer
• Shopping from more than 75 local craft vendors – with more being added every day
• Gift wrap hosted by Uncouth Gourmand benefiting the LA Regional Food Bank to help kick off holiday shopping
• Partial proceeds benefit LAUSD Edible School Gardens

Location
The Cooper Building
860 S Los Angeles St
11th Floor Penthouse
Downtown LA 90014

Attendance & Tickets
Admission is $10 in advance online (tickets are available through Eventbrite) and $15 day of event at the door (cash only), capacity allowing. This is a first time event, but our expected attendance is approximately 5000 over two days. To ensure attendance, we encourage people to buy their tickets in advance online here.

Parking & Directions

Directions and parking details can be found on our site here.

Amazing Local Vendors!

Baked Goods

All Jarred Up www.alljarredup.etsy.com

Bakelab www.thebakelab.com

Baking Betty’s www.bakingbettys.com

Cake Monkey Bakery www.cakemonkey.com

Cookie Casa www.cookiecasa.com

Flying Pie Man (no site available)

Gotta Have S’more www.GottaHavesmore.com
I Heart Pies www.iheartpies.com

Marcie’s Pies www.jimenezfamilyfarm.com

My Delight Cupcakery www.mydelightcupcakery.com

Sweet Détente www.sweetdetente.com

Sweet Dreamery Desserts www.sweetdreamerydesserts.com

Tartist www.tartist.la

Vici Victual www.twitter.com/vicivictual

The Welsh Baker www.welshbaker.com

Beverages

Bonadea Drinks www.bonadeadrinks.com

Cold Brew and Cola www.coldbrewandcola.com
Maria Elena’s Authentic Latino www.mariaelenas.com

Fresh Food Café

The Oaks Gourmet theoaksgourmet.com

Homegirl Café www.homeboy-industries.org

Chocolate/Confections

Beachy Cream: Malibu’s Natural Ice Cream www.beachycream.com

Butterfly Brittle www.butterflybrittle.com

Calabasas Candy Co. www.calabasascandyco.etsy.com

ChocoVivo www.chocovivo.com

Compartes Chocolates www.compartes.com/

Embrace – A Sweets Company www.embracesweets.com
Medina Chocolatier  www.medinachocolatier.com

Morning Glory Confections www.morninggloryconfections.com

Ococoa www.ococoa.com/

P.O.P. Candy  www.gopopcandy.com

Plush Puffs www.plushpuffs.com

Spun City Organic www.bernod.com

Coffee & Tea

Café de Leche www.cafedeleche.net

Sugarbird Sweets & Tea www.sugarbirdsweets.com

Garden

Winnetka Farms www.winnetkafarms.com

Woolly Pockets www.woollypocket.com

Silverlake Farms www.silverlakefarms.com

Kitchen Apparel & Accessories

Collision Ware www.collisionware.com

Common Thread Studio www.commonthreadstudio.com

Domestic Doll www.domesticdolldesign.com

Miss Fruitfly https://missfruitfly.com

Meat, Sausage & Dairy

Lindy & Grundy’s lindyandgrundy.com

Cast Iron Gourmet www.castirongourmet-la.com

Open Space Meats www.openspacemeats.com

Villebois Kitchen www.villeboiskitchen.com

Non-Profit

Mud Baron www.mudbaron.com

Food Chain Workers Alliance www.foodchainworkers.org

Slow Food Los Angeles  www.slowfoodla.com

Oil, Vinegar, Pantry

Akasha Restaurant, Bar & Bakery www.akasharestaurant.com

All Spice Café www.allspicecafe.com

Backwards Bee Keepers www.backwardsbeekeepers.com

Chicks With Knives’ Perishable Pickle Shop  www.perishablepickle.com

Fancifull Fine Foods & Baskets  www.fancifullgiftbaskets.com

Global Gardens www.globalgardensonline.com

Jammies Jams www.jammiesjams.com

Jenkins Jellies www.jenkinsjellies.com

Lemon Bird Handmade Jams www.lemonbirddesign.com

Mozambique Spices www.mozambiqueoc.com

San Angel Mole www.sanangelmole.com

Sauce Goddess Gourmet www.saucegoddess.com

SoNo Trading Company www.sonotrading.com

That’s A Nice www.thatsanice.com

The Olive Press www.theolivepress.com

The Unforgettables www.unforgettablefoods.com

Produce

Farm Fresh To You www.farmfreshtoyou.com

Farmscape Gardens www.farmscapegardens.com

Beer & Spirits
Eagle Rock Brewery www.eaglerockbrewery.com

Tru Organic Spirits www.greenbar.biz

Nibble Bit Tabby Brewery https://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=141320886321

Vegan

Rawk – N – Roll  www.RawknRollCuisine.com
And many, many more! We’re adding new vendors every day.

Weekend Chef Demos, Tastings, Panels and Workshops

Saturday, October 23rd
·

12p: Chef Jonathan Rollo, Greenleaf Gourmet Chopshop
Using Local and Seasonal Produce (Demo)

1p: Woolly Pockets
Simple One Container Kitchen Herb Gardens (Workshop)

1p: Local Honey Panel
Local Beekeeping w/Backwards Beekeepers, Feral Honey & Bee (Panel)

2p: Chef James Overbaugh, The Peninsula Hotel
Growing and Cooking with Artisanal Pumpkins (Demo)

2p: Vanessa De Vargas, Turquoise
Setting an Eco Table (Workshop)

3p: Christopher Klapp & Chef Ben Bailly, Petrossian
Sustainable Caviar (Demo and Tasting)

3p: Tara Kolla, Garden Guru, Silver Lake Farms
Urban Farming: How to Grow and Cook with Microgreens (Workshop)

4p: Lindy & Grundy, Heritage Meats and Home Butchering
w/ Marissa Guggianna, Author of Primal Cuts (Demo, Tasting, Raffle)

5p: Laura McIntosh, Host “Bringing It Home with Laura McIntosh“
The Difference Between Sustainable & Organic: What’s More Important?

All Day: Common Thread Studio
Hand Sewn Egg Cozies (Workshop 12-2p & 3-5p )

All Day: Pumpkin Paper Crafts for Kids (Craft)

Sunday, October 24th

12p: Chef Joseph Gillard, Napa Valley Grille
Biodynamic Wine Pairings (Demo and Tasting)

1p: Geri Miller, LA Master Gardener, mar’sel, Terranea Eco Resort
& Mixologist Blake Edwards, TheDrinkChef, mar’sel, Terranea Eco Resort
Garden Cocktail Infusions (Demo and Tasting)

2p: Suzanne Griswold & Rachael Narins, Chicks with Knives‘
Perishable Pickle Shop: Pickling 101 (Demo and Tasting)

3p: Craft Beer Panel
Eagle Rock Brewery & Nibble Bit Tabby
Moderated by The Beer Chicks (Panel and Tasting)

4p: Lindy & Grundy, Heritage Meats and Home Butchering
w/ Chef Christian Page, Daily Dose
(Demo, Tasting, Raffle)

5p: Josh Simon, Co-Founder & President, Function Drinks
Growing a Local Food Biz in LA (Speaker)

All Day: Common Thread Studio
Hand Sewn Egg Cozies  (Workshop 12-2p & 2-5p)

All Day: Pumpkin Paper Crafts for Kids (Craft)


Sponsors & Supporters Include

Bonadea Beverages, City of Los Angeles’ Office of the Mayor, DineLA, Dry Soda, Eagle Rock Brewery, Function Drinks, Green Bar Collective, The Healthy Voyager, Honest Tea, KCRW’s Good Food, Mud Baron, POM, Slow Food Movement Los Angeles, Whole Foods Market 3rd & Fairfax, Woolly Pockets and Your Daily Thread (who will be hosting our lounge area).

Share
FTC - Site employs income earning affiliate linking

Written by

View all posts by: